Slight change of plan…

So, shortly after my last entry here, I put plans into motion for a new website for Sacré Coeur that would involve a new blog which would be a part of the site rather than just linked out to blogspot, as it is at present. What with a new collection underway and a massive facelift on the cards, the website is taking a while to come to fruition but it will be well worth it once it’s done and dusted and ready to go! I haven’t forgotten about your submissions last year of your own jewellery collections. They are safely stashed with a written out entry about them ready to christen the new blog on the new site with! Basically, I am keeping the on-site blog very much SC and jewellery based.

That leaves me wondering about this blog and what to do with it. I don’t want it to sit here uninhabited & unloved, nor do I want to delete it… so I had an idea!

Many of my customers and friends that I have made throughout the course of running Sacré Coeur follow me on Twitter & Facebook and, as such, they get a small glimpse into the weird and wonderful stuff I get up to in my lab/studio. I thought I’d open this blog up to act as a window into the inner workings of Sacré Coeur HQ and show you some of the stuff I do in my spare time… mainly because I’m a complete geek and like to share these things where possible!

If there is a call for this sort of thing then you can expect to find a lot of insects both dead and alive, projects involving my hobbies (entomology, amateur horticulture, collection and preservation of natural specimens, taxidermy, the creatures I rear etc), private collections, artwork I am working on and other such stuff. So, what say you guys? Might this be something you’d be interested in seeing?

I shall leave you with a few photos of my personal collection of natural history paraphernalia and other misc bits and pieces to give you an idea of what I’m talking about!

Au revoir for now! x


    
This entry was published on March 13, 2012 at 5:38 pm and is filed under new direction, personal collection. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Slight change of plan…

  1. Sounds like an awesome plan! Look forward to seeing the new site! :Dhttp://www.rafflesbizarre.blogspot.com

  2. Beautiful collection. Where do you find most of these? ebay or markets?

  3. Sarah- Thank you! I pick them up wherever I find them really! Some are market or antique store finds, some are ebay, some are auction and some are found on my travels out and about in nature. All of the taxidermy, (with the exception of the baby caiman), specimen jars and insect mounts shown above are by me 🙂

    • oh wow, that makes your collection even more special then 🙂 I’m trying to convince my other half that we need to fill the flat with taxidermy. He’s a huge animal lover and finds the sight of dead/stuffed ones a little hard going but I am slowly winning him round 😉

      • Thank you 🙂 I’m a massive animal lover myself and would never harm anything, least of all in the name of my art. I see what i do as preserving the beauty of nature and protecting it from decay so it can be looked upon and remembered years beyond its passing. It’s a tribute & it’s done with the utmost respect to the animal. So yes, with that in mind, my collection is very special indeed!

  4. I totally agree with you. I’m sorry I should of worded it a bit better as like you I adore animals, I think he worries about ending up with stuffed animals that have been killed just for that purpose in a kind of mass produced way. I really love the Victorain ones, such a nice mix of beauty and history all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

